Certification basics

Scaled Agile’s role-based offerings focus on the skills, knowledge, and experience required to successfully perform the job in a SAFe working environment. Before taking the certification exam, individuals are required to attend the relevant SAFe course and are highly encouraged to read recommended books and articles, and take advantage of videos and enablement resources, in addition to gaining real-world experience in the role. Scaled Agile maintains rigorous quality standards to ensure that those who have earned the certification are well prepared to effectively fulfill their role in a SAFe enterprise.

Learning journey: checklist

Attend the course

  • Course completion is the first step toward SAFe certification.
  • Scaled Agile training classes are designed with the learner in mind. Incorporating active learning techniques with a robust role-based curriculum is a great start to the SAFe learning journey.
  • Receive access to the SAFe Community Platform after the class, which provides access to study materials & the exam.

Study and learn

  • Review
  • Study Guides
  • Practice Tests
  • Sample Tests
  • Experience

Detailed exam study guides are available to help prepare for the exam and are part of the Learning Plan provided to candidates on the SAFe Community Platform. Each study guide provides relevant and content-specific exam information, such as the certification role description, prerequisite skills and knowledge, exam objectives, and a comprehensive reading list.

Practice tests can help prepare for the exam and are part of the Learning Plan on the SAFe Community Platform. With a practice test candidates can ‘test before the test.’ It simulates the actual certification exam in duration, difficulty, and topic area. Passing the practice test does not guarantee passing the certification exam, but it provides a testing simulation, and the score report can be used to identify an individual’s strengths and weaknesses.

Practice tests are available at no additional charge, delivered through the Learning Plan in the SAFe Community Platform, and can be taken as many times as needed. Note that testers will receive the same bank of questions each time, but they will be randomized.

Sample tests provide examples of the type and format of the questions to expect on the certification exam. They are publicly available for all exams under Exam Details on each certification detail page.

Leverage experience. It’s more than being book smart. Scaled Agile exams test specific knowledge, skill, experience, and attitudes related to each SAFe job role. Combining a person’s learning and studying with their real-world experiences is key to becoming SAFe® Certified.

Take the exam

Exam retake policy

The following applies to all Scaled Agile exams, except sample tests and practice tests:

  • The first time an exam is taken is considered a “first attempt” and not a retake
  • If a certification exam is not successfully completed on the first attempt, there is no waiting period before taking the exam a second time
  • A second attempt (first retake) of an exam can be done immediately after the first attempt for a fee*
  • A third attempt requires a 10-day wait before the exam can be retaken for a fee*
  • A fourth attempt requires a 30-day wait before the exam can be retaken for a fee*
  • Once an exam is successfully completed, exam retakes are not allowed. The candidate may not take the same exam again, unless there has been an announced update to the exam.

*There is a fee associated with each retake attempt. See each exam page for the specific retake fee associated with the exam.

Continue the learning journey

Becoming SAFe certified should be the beginning of an ongoing pursuit of learning and knowledge.